Good, Cold and Wet Winds

Many of you already know that I travelled to Argentina in April on a work trip (just a little while before the Big Day!). I was super excited about this trip as I knew I was going to see some amazing sights and I would be able to put my camera to good use. I’m so excited to finally be able to share some photos of that trip with you! Most of the photos are taken with my SLR, by me. The few instances that they’re not, I’ve mentioned it in the caption. I’m pleased with my photography efforts here. I’ve even gone as far as to edit a few snaps to enhance some features and add some variety. Let me know what you think.

The location of the conference was the autonomous city of Buenos Aires (translates to Good Winds in English). It’s the third¬†International Society for Heart Research (ISHR) conference I’ve had the chance to attend. The first ISHR conference I attended was in San Diego, America back in 2012 and the second was a European sector meeting in Bordeaux, France in 2015. It’s a shame I don’t have many photos of those¬†trips to share with you ūüė¶

20160418_092050

Conference time. Quick snap of my ID card – taken with my Samsung

Whilst in Buenos Aires, we had some time to explore the city. The number one tourist attraction in Buenos Aires is Recoleta cemetery. It is the burial place of many notable Argentinians including¬†Eva Per√≥n. To explain her significance in a nutshell, you could say she was¬†the Argentinian version of Lady Diana. Unfortunately for us, the cemetery was closed when we got there. I did however manage to capture a snap of it through the gate. I think it makes a pretty cool effect on the picture¬†and you¬†can see the large¬†burial tombs¬†inside. Not your average cemetery at all and a little bit eerie for me too if I’m honest.

dsc01258
Hola Buenos Aires! Photo taken by James
img_1124
Exploring Buenos Aires
img_1126
Street of BA
img_1138
Obelisco de Buenos Aires in the distance
img_1149
Recoleta Cemetery – Number one tourist attraction in BA
img_1140
Colourful scaffolding

El Calafate¬†is a city in the Patagonia region of Argentina. It is in South Argentina, relatively close to the South Pole! It is a three hour plane ride from Buenos Aires. This is the part of the trip that I was most excited about, as El Calafate is the home of the¬†Los Glaciares National Park. Here you¬†get to experience the colossal Perito Moreno glacier. Admittedly the photos are beautiful, but believe me when I say that they do not do sufficient justice to the immense size and natural beauty of the glacier. The glacier is approximately 40 m high! It is absolutely breathtaking. We spent a long time in the national park, walking along the different trails admiring it’s beauty, despite the fact that it was so cold! The glacier¬†radiates¬†coldness (it is a humongous block of ice after all), it’s like putting your face in a freezer (like cold wind – get it?). You can actually go hiking on the glacier itself in organised tours. Sadly,¬†we weren’t able to do so. If I ever return to Argentina, this is an experience that is definitely on my to do list. Nonetheless, it was truly a unique experience seeing such an unusual¬†sight. I love the¬†contrast of the colourful¬†flora¬†against the icy blue glacial backdrop. Who knows, there may be Wildlings beyond that icy wall?

img_1170
El Calafate (Patagonia, Argentina). Photo by Dibesh
img_1163
Home for the night
img_1164
View of Lago Argentino from Hotel
img_1201
First view of Perito Moreno Glacier
img_1400
Pathways leading to Perito Moreno
img_1255
Trail signs
img_1331
Perito Moreno
img_1286
Close up view
img_1269
Beautiful
img_1259
Postcard type pic
img_1246
Lovely Kavita

Argentina is huge compared to tiny little Britain and as such, has a wide variety¬†of climates. In North Argentina, on its¬†border with Brazil and Paraguay, lies¬†the very scenic and humid¬†Iguazu Falls (wet winds part). Iguazu Falls are a two hour plane ride away from Buenos Aires. Whilst the weather in Buenos Aires was dull, cool and rainy, the weather in Iguazu was hot, sticky and very humid. Upon our arrival in the national park, we took a steady uphill tram ride to the highest point of the waterfall, to view the Devil’s throat. This is where the huge river becomes a waterfall. We walked along the pathways, over the Rio Iguazu and through the jungle, anticipating it’s arrival. Before we could see it, we could hear it and feel it. The sound of so much¬†water falling from such a height (82 m fall), sounds like thunder. As you can imagine, it was nice walking amongst the mist, given off the waterfall, on such a hot and sticky day. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to capture great shots of the Devil’s throat. It was too wet to keep the camera out. To really appreciate the magnitude of the Devil’s throat, it’s best to have a look at photos taken from a bird’s eye¬†perspective (great images in¬†Google search).

In addition to water, the park had an abundant number of colourful butterflies and rainbows and¬†I did manage to capture¬†some pretty nice photos of these. It was amazing to see so many rainbows at the same time. On a nice sunny day, the rainbows form in the mist of the waterfall. I’ve enhanced one of my images so you can clearly see two beautiful rainbows. Absolutely stunning! I hope my photos inspire you to explore somewhere different too.

img_0995
Iguazu Falls (Misiones, Argentina)
img_0939
Smiley Dibesh
img_1036
A colourful Dr Bassi and her new acquaintance
img_0982
Lots of pretty butterflies here
img_1091
Groovy
img_0919
Approaching the ‘Devil’s Throat’
img_0879
Devil’s Throat
img_0889
The view opens up
img_0856
Hello Dibesh!
img_0942
Green frame of misty waterfall
img_0965
Rekha and I bravely walking over one of the smaller waterfalls
img_0998
Rainbow!
img_1072
Enhanced this view of the pretty rainbows
img_0977
Amazing experience
3 thoughts on “Good, Cold and Wet Winds

  1. What a wonderful collection of photographs, that capture so vividly the colours and climates of beautiful Argentina…..Takes me right back there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

